Reno Sommerhalder

Reno.png

I was born in Zürich, Switzerland in 1965. Right after finishing a chef’s apprenticeship, I emigrated to Canada on a whim and have put down my roots here in the Rocky Mountains since 1986. That same year, an encounter with a bear would change my life forever.


This meeting, during which the bear entered my tent as a result of my own wrong doing, ended with both of us parting unharmed. Now so many years later, it seems to me that it must have been the soul bearer of the ursidaes himself, as I have since that moment dedicated, first all of my spear time and then later, my entire life to the understanding and conservation of bears and their habitat.


Since my “escape” from Europe, I spend my summers among bears in Canada, Alaska, Russia or Europe. After thousands of hours among these magnificent animals, there is no doubt in my mind that bears are highly tolerant and peace loving critters. It is obvious that as long as we can abort the old myth of Ursus horribilis, which are mainly based on irrational fear, Hollywood and hunting lore, that we humans can learn to peacefully co-exist next to these important indicators for a healthy environment.     
In the past many years I out myself through survival workshops and have been certified (ACMG) as a wilderness guide. I have helped with the field work on scientific projects, conducted bear safety workshops and behavioural research on bears in order to better understand human behaviour during encounters with these gentle giants. I have been hired by NGO’s and governments to help advise about conservation of brown or grizzly bears. With the help of guided tours, multimedia presentations, books, documentaries and media stories, I am continuously pointing towards the urgent necessity to protect the natural spaces that are left and with it the wildlife inhabiting them.

  
I am even able to surprise anyone interested with a most unconventional and adventurous meal, prepared entirely with bear foods.


I would be happy to hear from you!


Reno Sommerhalder

In the wilderness is the salvation of the world.

Henry David Thoreau

Reno Sommerhalder

1965 bin ich in Zürich geboren und aufgewachsen. Nach meiner Ausbildung als Koch trieb mich mein Fernweh nach Kanada in die Rocky Mountains - dort bin ich seit 1986 nun zu Hause. Damals war meine erste Bärenbegegnung eine tiefschürfende Erfahrung und hat meinen Lebensweg für immer verändert und geprägt.

 

Die Begegnung, in der das Tier durch meinen eigenen Fehler in mein Zelt eindrang, verlief schlussendlich harmlos. Es schien mir, als dass er der “Seelenträger” der Bären selber war! Denn von diesem Moment an verschrieb ich zuerst meine Freizeit und schliesslich mein ganzes Leben den Bären und deren Schutz.

 

Seit meiner Auswanderung verbringe ich meine Sommer entweder in Kanada, in Alaska oder in Kamchatka (Russland) unter Grizzlybären. Diese unzähligen Bärenbegegnungen und die reichhaltigen Erfahrungen haben meinen Glauben gestärkt und bestätigt, dass der Bär ein sehr tolerantes und friedfertiges Tier ist. Dass es, so fern wir die alten Mythen abstossen, möglich ist mit diesen Tieren in Frieden zusammen zu leben. 

 

Seit meinem Move nach Kanada habe ich Überlebenskurse und Wildnisführerprüfungen absolviert. Ich habe mich an Wildtierstudien beteiligt und Verhaltensforschung betrieben um das menschliche Verhalten während Bärenbegegnungen besser zu verstehen. Ich habe mich, für verschiedene Organisationen, direkt für den Schutz der Lebensräume eingesetzt. Hauptsächlich beteilige ich mich mit Workshops, Kursen, Multimediashows, geführten Bärentouren und mit Dokumentarfilmen an der Aufklärungsarbeit mit dem Ziel, den Lebensraum und die Tiere besser zu verstehen und zu schützen. Ausserdem bin ich in der Lage Dir ein ganz ausgefallenes Bärenmenü zu servieren!

 

Ich würde mich freuen von Dir zu hören!

 

Reno Sommerhalder

In the wilderness is the salvation of the world.

Henry David Thoreau

Reno Sommerhalder 

Box 853, Banff, AB, T1L 1A8, Kanada

Tel: +403 760 5048

  • Facebook Social Icon

Impressum      I      Datenschutz

Design by R. Vaqué 2021