Special Tours

It is possible to organize guided trips into any regions of the world inhabited by the different bear species. Here you will find some food for thought. Even a trip to the legendary taiga, home of the mighty Amur tiger of the Russian Far East, is an option. Please contact me if you have an idea, a wish or are interested. These trips are custom designed. An unforgettable and unique adventure is unavoidable!

Tiger & Asiatic Black Bear

3cubs trailing creek2.jpg

I’ve been hooked on the far eastern Ussuri taiga, ever since I began work with my Russian colleagues on an orphaned rehabilitation project there in 2013, where I was first in the magical presence of the Amur tiger (Panthera tigris altaica). These subtropical broad-leaved forests, with their high biodiversity are absolutely fascinating. This region is the only one left on the planet, where the large and usually dominant brown bear, here almost completely black (Ursus arctos lasiotus), is only second in row.

Here the Amurtiger is calling the shots (with the usual exception of our own species!). The Asiatic black bear (Ursus thibetanus) is also home to these ancient forests. Chances to be able to spot and observe these arborial specialists feeding high up in a Mongolian oak are very good during the month of october.

TigerB2017.JPG

Spirit Bear (Ursus amerianus kermodei)

Observing one of the rare coastal Spirit bears in the wild is likely one of the major highlights for any nature enthusiast.  Together with whales, coastal wolves and bald eagles, the Kermode bear beautifully represents these lush temperate rainforests along BC’s west coast. These white black bears aren’t albinos. It is a recessive gene, unique to this subspecies, that is responsible for the snowy white coats of this mystical bear.

Spectacled Bear (Tremarctos ornatus)

The spectacled bear is mainly making its home in the remote lushness of the cloud forests along the spine of the Andes, stretching from from Columbia to Argentina. This relatively smallish bear species is difficult to observe in its dense and foggy habitat but the very high diversity of life here will leave the aware observer with little time to rest. The best time to visit this stunning area of the world is any time between October and February.

Panda Bear (Ailuropoda melanoleuca)

Approximately 1800 panda bears roam the bamboo forests of the three Chinese provinces of Gansu, Shaanxi and Sichuan. In order to observe a panda in the wild, you will need to be in great physical shape, as these mountains and slopes here are very steep and you will also require a fair size portion of luck. A stop at the Wolong Panda Research Center would be part of the program.

The idea of wilderness needs no defense,

it only needs defenders.

Edward Abbey

Weitere Touren

Es ist möglich Wildnis - und Bärentouren in alle von Bären bewohnten Regionen der Welt zu organisieren. Hier findest Du einige Ideen und Anregungen. Auch Reisen zum Amurtiger im Fernen Osten Russlands sind möglich. Melde Dich wenn Du eine Idee, einen Wunsch oder Interesse hast. Diese Touren sind massgeschneidert. Ein unvergessliches und einmaliges Abenteur ist unvermeidbar!

Tiger & Asiatischer Schwarzbär

3cubs trailing creek2.jpg

Seit dem Bärenwaisenprojekt (siehe Terra Ursus) in 2013, wo ich das erste Mal mit der unbeschreiblichen Präsenz des Amurtigers (Panthera tigris altaica) konfrontiert wurde, bin ich von Ussurien im Fernen Osten Russlands und von dieser Grosskatzenart fasziniert. Der subtropische Mischwald und die grosse Artenvielfalt in dieser abgelegenen Region, haben mich voll in ihren Bann gezogen. Diese Wälder sind der einzige Lebensraum weltweit, wo der Braunbär (Ursus arctos lasiotus), hier fast rabenschwarz gefärbt, nicht der König ist.

Hier herrscht (neben dem Menschen natürlich!) der Amurtiger. Auch der Asiatische Schwarzbär (Ursus thibetanus) ist in diesen ausgedehnten Wäldern zu hause. Die Chancen im Oktober einen dieser “Baumspezialisten” in einer dicken Mongolischen Eiche (beim Eicheln fressen) aufzuspüren, sind ziemlich gross.

TigerB2017.JPG

Geisterbär (Ursus amerianus kermodei)

Einen dieser seltenen weissen Schwarzbären in freier Wildbahn zu beobachten, zählt wohl zu den eindrücklichsten Bärenerlebnissen. Zusammen mit Wal, Küstenwolf und Weisskopfseeadler, repräsentiert dieses Tier wunderbar die üppigen Regenwälder von Britisch Kolumbien (BC). Kermodebären sind keine Albinos. Die wenigen Individuen die diese schneeweise Fellfarbe aufweisen, sind es dank einem rezessiven Gen, einmalig für diese Unterart.

Brillenbär (Tremarctos ornatus)

Südamerikas Brillenbären leben zum grössten Teil in den nur schwer zugänglichen aber bezaubernd schönen und faszinierenden Wolkenwäldern der Anden von Kolumbien bis Argentinien. Brillenbären sind in ihrem dichten Lebensraum nur schwer zu beobachten, doch die hohe Artenvielfalt dieser Wälder lässt dem aufmerksamen Beobachter praktisch keine Minute ohne irgend eine Neuentdeckung. Der beste Zeitpunkt für eine Tour ins Reich der Inkas ist zwischen Oktober bis Februar.

Panda (Ailuropoda melanoleuca)

Die ca. 1800 frei lebenden Pandas durchstreifen die Bambuswälder der drei Chinesischen Provinzen von Gansu, Shaanxi und Sichuan. Um einen wilden Panda in freier Wildbahn zu Gesicht zu bekommen, benötigt man Glück. Nur schon den üppigen Lebensraum der Panda's und deren Mitbewohner zu erleben, ist ein Privileg. Bei einer Reise ins Land der Riesenpandas wäre ein Besuch im Wolong Panda Research Center auf dem Programm vorgesehen.

The idea of wilderness needs no defense,

it only needs defenders.

Edward Abbey