Human behaviour

Human behavior in bear country

Here you will find important information regarding human behavior during encounters with brown and grizzly bears. I also offer workshops and multimedia shows about staying safe around bears. Please contact me if you are interested.

 

Compared to the North American grizzly, the European brown bear is considered to be even less dangerous during encounters with humans. The risk of being attacked by a grizzly  or brown bear here in North America is low and in Europe even lower! And yet you have to be prepared for such potentially dangerous encounters.

Main reasons for conflict situations

The following three situations can lead to a conflict with a grizzly or brown bear. Most of these situations can be traced back to a close range surprise encounter. In this case, the bear's reaction can be described as defensive-aggressive behavior, in which the animal attacks in order to defend something.

  1. Mother with cubs (defending the cubs)

  2. Feeding bear (defending its food source)

  3. Single bear (defending itself as it feels cornered because of the immediate surroundings) 

Surprise Encounter

Surprise encounters are largely the result of silently walking in a densely vegetated or wooded landscape or along a rushing stream. In 9 out of 10 cases the bear flees before you can react. If the bear doesn't flee during such an encounter:

 Behaviour 1:

  • Bear does not flee but does not attack (it could simply be habituated!)

  • Never run from a bear!

  • Back up slowly, without facing away from the bear

  • Speak to Bear in a calm voice - avoid eye contact

  • As soon as there is a distance of approx. 150 meters, you can either enjoy the observation for a few more minutes (as long as the bear is obviously not stressed) or you can move away and possibly report the encounter to the authorities if unusual or highly defensive behavior was observed.

 

Bluff charge

Bluff or false charges are mostly following a surprise encounter at close range in which the bear runs straight towards you at a high speed, but interrupts the attack beforehand and veers off. In rare cases the bluff charges are repeated.

 Behaviour 2:

  • Stand your ground, avert your gaze, speak to the bear in a calm voice - don't forget, this is a defensive maneuver, so it is important to make it clear to the bear in this situation with your behavior that you are not a threat to what he or she is trying to protect.

  • Usually these situations are over so quickly that you don't have time to react - not even to react incorrectly. Never run from a bear!

  • If there is enough time and you can react fast enough, it is advisable to remove the safety of your pepper spray and, if necessary, spray a small “cloud” of cayenne towards the bear.

Bluff charge ending with contact

In very, very rare cases, a bear pulls through during a bluff charge, resulting in physical contact. For the most part, these attacks last a few seconds. Our behavior must show the bear that we are not a threat to what he or she is trying to protect.

 Behaviour 3:

  • Drop to the ground when body contact is imminent

  • Try taking a position lying on your stomach, legs apart, hands folded behind your neck - play dead and lie still

  • Remain in this position long enough until the bear has safely moved away - moving too early can trigger another attack.

  • It is advisable to use the pepper spray during such an encounter, if you have the time to do so.​

 

Prevention

  • Preventing such surprise encounters by behaving correctly is probably the most important piece of information I can provide in order to make your and the bears’ life safer.

  • So above all, avoid surprise encounters at close range - in dense bushes, next to rushing water and where you would expect bears, make loud noises (human voice is best), so as not to surprise the bear.

  • Hike in groups if that makes you feel better

  • Always keep dogs leashed or leave them at home.

  • Carry pepper spray and know how to use it

  • Educate yourself. Learn about bears, their behavior and their habitat.

Bear Viewing Etiquette
It is in the interest of all people involved in bear viewing activities, that a proper viewing etiquette is in place.  As a first priority it is imperative to maintain the integrity of our natural resources, to respect the wildlife and their habitat, and if applicable, to encourage visitors to be respectful of traditional knowledge and beliefs.  With this in mind, probably one of the more important rules to follow while viewing bears and other wildlife, is to attempt at all times to view animals without changing their behavior. 

Bear viewing can be conducted in a safe and sustainable fashion for both bears and people, as it has been shown for many decades in places such as McNeil River Game Sanctuary and many other places worldwide.

The following guidelines are closely respected on all of my excursions where applicable and I recommend anyone to learn them inside out so that they can be applied at any time if you happen to be out in the wild without a guide.

  • At all times be aware that you are in the domain of the bear and other wildlife and that we share the wild spaces with them.  Please act respectfully.

  • Never feed any bears or any other wildlife.

  • Please do not try to get the bears attention by yelling or throwing things to get a better photo opportunity.

  • Normally we will not approach bears but let them make the choice if they want to come closer or not.  So please be patient and enjoy the privilege.

  • Bring good binoculars or a spotting scope, which may allow you to get a better look in case animals are staying at a distance.

  • If applicable, we will stay on designated trails whenever possible

  • We will try at all times not to alter the bears activity patterns.  Never forget that we’re out there for fun and to learn.  The bears are trying to survive!

  • Generally we do not flee or move away from an approaching bear.  Bears are often as curious as we are and just want to take a better look.

  • Do never approach a small and young looking bear. It may be a cub with its mother near by.

  • Please leave your pet at home.  It may startle or scare bears and other wildlife.

Until he extends his circle of compassion to include all living things, one will not find peace himself.

Albert Schweizer

Verhaltensregeln

Menschliches Verhalten im Bärenland

Hier findest Du die wichtigsten Informationen betreffend menschliches Verhalten während Begegnungen mit Braun- und Grizzlybären.  Ich offeriere auch Workshops und Multimedia-Shows über den sicheren Umgang mit Bären.  Bitte melde Dich wenn Interesse besteht.

 

Der Europäische Braunbär wird im Vergleich zum Nordamerikanischen Grizzly in seinem potentiellen aggressiven Verhalten dem Menschen gegenüber noch tiefer eingestuft. Das Risiko von einem Bären hier in Nordamerika angegriffen zu werden ist gering und in Europa noch geringer! Und trotzdem muss man auf solche potentielle Begegnungen vorbereitet sein.

Hauptgründe für Konfliktsituationen

Folgende drei Situationen können zu einer Konfliktsituation mit Grizzly – oder Braunbären führen.  Ein Grossteil dieser Situationen sind auf eine Überraschungsbegegnung auf kurze Distanz zurück zu führen.  Die Reaktion des Bären oder der Bärin ist in diesem Fall als defensiv- aggressives Verhalten zu beschreiben in dem das Tier angreift um etwas zu verteidigen.

  1. Mutter mit Jungen (Verteidigung der Jungen)

  2. Bär beim futtern (Verteidigung der Nahrung) 

  3. Einzelner Bär (Verteidigt sich selbst, eingedrängt – kein anderer Ausweg)

Überraschungsbegegnungen (ca. 80%)

Überraschungsbegegnungen sind zum Grossteil Folge vom lautlosen wandern in einer dicht bebuschten oder bewaldeten Landschaft oder entlang einem rauschenden Gewässer. In 9 von 10 Fällen flüchtet der Bär bevor man reagieren kann. Wenn der Bär nicht flüchtet:

 Verhalten1:

  • Bär flüchtet nicht, greift aber auch nicht an

  • Nie vom Bären davon rennen!

  • Langsam rückwärts gehen ohne sich vom Bären abzuwenden

  • Sprich mit dem Bär mit ruhiger Stimme - Augenkontakt vermeiden

  • So bald eine Distanz von ca. 150 Meter besteht, kann man entweder die Beobachtung noch einige Minuten geniessen (so lange der Bär offensichtlich nicht gestresst ist) oder man entfernt sich und meldet die Begegnung unter Umständen den Behörden.

Scheinangriff

Scheinangriffe folgen als Grossteil einer Überraschungsbegegnung auf kurze Distanz in denen der Bär in hohem Tempo geradewegs auf einem zu rennt, den Angriff aber vorher abbricht. In seltenen Fällen wird dieses Verhalten wiederholt. 

 Verhalten 2:

  • Stehen bleiben, Blick abwenden, mit Bär in ruhiger Stimme sprechen – nicht vergessen, das ist ein Verteidigungsmanöver, deshalb ist es wichtig dem Bären in dieser Situation mit deinem Verhalten klar zu machen dass du keine Gefahr für das bist was sie oder er versucht zu beschützen.

  • Normalerweise sind diese Situationen so schnell vorbei, dass man keine Zeit zum reagieren hat – auch nicht zum falsch reagieren, deshalb auf keinen Fall weg rennen!

  • Wenn genügend Zeit vorhanden ist und man schnell genug reagieren kann, ist es ratsam den Pfefferspray zu entsichern und unter Umständen eine kleine “Wolke” Cayenne in Richtung Bär zu sprühen.

 

Angriff mit Körperkontakt

In sehr sehr seltenen Fällen bricht ein Bär einen Scheinangriff nicht ab und es kommt zum Körperkontakt.  Zum Grossteil dauern diese Angriff einige Sekunden. Unseres Verhalten muss dem Bären zeigen dass wir keine Gefahr sind für das was er oder sie versucht zu beschützen.

 Verhalten 3: 

  • Bei Körperkontakt fallen lassen

  • Position auf dem Bauch liegend einnehmen, Beine gespreizt, Hände hinter dem Nacken verschränkt – tot spielen und still liegen

  • Lange genug liegen bleiben bis sich der Bär sicher entfernt hat – zu frühe Bewegung kann erneuten Angriff auslösen.

  • Hat man während der Begegnung Zeit den Pfefferspray zu benutzen, dann ist das unbedingt ratsam. 

Vorbeugen

  • Solchen Überraschungsbegegnungen mit richtigem Verhalten vorzubeugen ist wohl bei allen diesen Information das aller wichtigste.

  • Also vor allem Überraschungsbegegnungen auf kurze Distanz vermeiden - In dichtem Gebüsch, neben fliessendem Gewässer und dort wo man Bären erwartet, laute Geräusche (Menschliche Stimme am besten) von sich geben um den Bären nicht zu überraschen.

  • In Gruppen wandern

  • Hunde immer an der Leine führen oder zu Hause lassen – niemals von der Leine lassen! 

  • Wenn möglich Pfefferspray tragen und wissen wie und wann man ihn benutzt

  • Bildung; lerne mehr über die Bären, ihr Verhalten und ihren Lebensraum

Menschliches Verhalten bei Bear Viewing
Es ist im Interesse aller Personen, die an Bärenbeobachtungsaktivitäten beteiligt sind, dass ein angemessenes menschliches Verhalten vorhanden ist. Als erste Priorität ist es unerlässlich, die Integrität unserer natürlichen Ressourcen zu bewahren und die Tierwelt und ihren Lebensraum zu respektieren. Deshalb ist es wahrscheinlich eine der wichtigsten Regeln beim Beobachten von Bären und anderen Wildtieren zu versuchen diese dabei nicht zu stören und/oder ihr Verhalten dabei nicht zu ändern.
 
Bear viewing kann sowohl für Bären als auch für Menschen auf sichere und nachhaltige Weise durchgeführt werden, wie dies seit vielen Jahrzehnten an Orten wie dem McNeil River Game Sanctuary und vielen anderen Orten weltweit gezeigt wird.

Die folgenden Richtlinien werden bei allen meinen Ausflügen, sofern zutreffend, eingehalten. Ich empfehle allen, diese zu kennen, damit sie auch jederzeit angewendet werden können, auch wenn man ohne Führer in freier Wildbahn unterwegs ist.

 

  • Sei dir jederzeit bewusst, dass du dich in der Domäne des Bären und anderer Wildtiere befindest und dass wir die Natur mit ihnen teilen. Bitte handeln Sie respektvoll.

  • Füttere niemals Bären oder andere Wildtiere.

  • Bitte versuche nicht die Aufmerksamkeit der Bären zu erhaschen, indem du schreist oder Gegenstände wirfst, nur um eine bessere Fotomöglichkeit zu erhalten.

  • Normalerweise nähern wir uns den Bären nicht, sondern lassen sie die Wahl treffen, ob sie näher kommen wollen oder nicht. Geduldig sein und das Privileg geniessen.

  • Bring ein gutes Fernglas mit, damit du Wildtiere besser beobachten kannst wenn sie sich in einiger Entfernung aufhalten.

  • Falls zutreffend, bleiben wir nach Möglichkeit auf ausgewiesenen Wegen um die oft fragile Vegetation zu schützen.

  • Wir werden jederzeit versuchen, die Aktivitätsmuster der Bären nicht zu verändern. Vergiss niemals, dass wir zum Spaß da draußen sind. Die Bären dagegen, versuchen zu überleben!

  • Im Allgemeinen fliehen oder entfernen wir uns nicht von einem sich nähernden Bären. Bären sind oft so neugierig wie wir auch.

  • Gehen Sie niemals auf einen kleinen und jung aussehenden Bären zu. Es kann sich um ein Junges mit seiner Mutter in der Nähe aber ausser Sicht handeln.

  • Bitte lassen Sie Ihren Hund zu Hause. Er kann Bären und andere Wildtiere unnötig stressen.

Until he extends his circle of compassion to include all living things, man will not himself find peace.

Albert Schweizer